Career, Get-Set-Go?!

Hello My Fellow Followers, 

I know it has been awhile since my last post. I’ve had a tense 10 week  school term, that has been over for about 2 weeks and I am still trying to recuperate. Towards the end of the term I was ready to throw in the towel. I was drained emotionally, physically and creatively. Alas, I pulled through and managed to deliver a great portfolio, if I do say so myself. I was counting down the weeks for the term to be over.To be free from lectures, homework assignments and final projects. And now that that is over, school time has been replaced with more work hours (the non-luxury one)  but I am once again watching some television. I finally caught up with Glee and Scandal!! Oh my god, you guys, Poor President Fitzgerald Grant!!! 

As my followers know, I was doing a PR Internship with Latino Fashion Week. After that was over, I was doing more PR work for its’ parent company Imagen Marketing Consultants. I was working one on one with my mentor researching perspective clients and researching a bunch of other things. Towards the end of school term, I got offered a part-time position with IMC and I took it. I’ve been working the social media sites and looking into other things that will make me more knowledgeable in Social Media Marketing, that I can use to my advantage in exposing IMC to a market that was never attainable. 

I was given my first project right before the school term was over. If this works out, this project can be turned to my first client. I have been excited since day one and together we have made some first great impressions in the film industry. More details on that to come. 

My second project was given to me today. Today was the first time that IMC sat down as a group with a client. Bouncing out ideas and hearing each other was a great experience. We all had different perspectives of how the Expo should turn out but the overall goal is that we want the expo to be a success. We are gearing towards that and we shall achieve that goal. I will be in charge in building a social media campaign for our expo. Some details are being finalized before I can release any more information. 

So, on my way home after this meeting, I just sat there and started to think. Thinking about my education at IADT. That all the hard work, all those late nights and money invested on final projects was all worth it, no matter how much I complained. Then I remembered an email that Cesar, my internship mentor turned boss, sent me after the portfolio showcase. He told me how impressed he was with my portfolio and the way I branded myself. He praised me, something that still feels weird to me. But he is right, I see things that he doesn’t and that is why he won’t let me go. And I see myself doing a lot of great things with IMC. I never saw myself in a PR & Social Media Marketing field and I am loving every minute of it. 

G!

Leave a Reply

