Menswear… keeps getting REAL!!

HI, there! I have missed this place and the writing the most. I have been a busy bee getting some personal things in order and hopefully some potential career moves that will take off. Enough of me let’s talk about some LCM fashion! I’ve been excited and have been looking forward for some of my favorite menswear designers.

Let’s review (some) London Collections.

Loving what Richard Nicoll showed for Fall 2014. Shorts is still a big trend that has rolled from many Spring/Summer 2014 fashion shows. Although, they made a few appearances here what was more exciting about this show was the bold color choices from this colorful designer and all the print he used. The jacquard and silk prints were a surprise as well. I liked the relaxed feel and 70’s vibe of the show. The baggy Bermudas paired with the sweater was stunning.

Richard Nicoll A/W 2014
Richard Nicoll A/W 2014
Richard Nicoll A/W 2014
Richard Nicoll A/W 2014

One of my personal favorites has always been the Alexander McQueen brand. His shows were always something to admire and you had to always dissect the garments in order to get the real meaning of the show. I applaud Sarah Burton for keeping the brand alive but for also giving it a feminine touch. Her menswear designs have evolved for the better. Each season, for men, it keeps getting better and better. For Autumn/Winter, she gave us a monochromatic color scheme done in a very refreshing way. The lamé touches and zippers were really appealing to me. I am a fan of kilts and skirts for menswear, I wouldn’t have a problem wearing a Mcqueen suit with a kilt. Very Punk, Very British.

Alexander McQueen A/W 2014
Alexander McQueen A/W 2014
Alexander McQueen A/W 2014
Alexander McQueen A/W 2014

Christopher Kane has been a new favorite of mine since discovering his Spring/Summer 2012 collection. Even back then, he showed only pops of color but always keeping his monochromatic theme going. What I like about Christopher is that his initial idea transcends into his womenswear and sometimes carries over to the following season. For Autumn/Winter 2014 he still has that oversized tee that have become a fan favorite. This season, like every season, he does one print that is done in a variety of ways. The molecular print looks great in black and white, as well as in a colorful red, green and blue. For me his minimalism aesthetic is best when styled in layers.

Christopher Kane Autumn/Winter 2014
Christopher Kane Autumn/Winter 2014
Christopher Kane Autumn/Winter 2014
Christopher Kane Autumn/Winter 2014

Many people that know my sense of style know that I do not wear a lot of color. I try to avoid it if I can. The most colorful thing I own, besides my tattoo, is my colorful wool Missoni scarf and a orange V-neck shirt. Jonathan Saunders is another designer that I always look forward to seeing every season. He is as colorful as color can get, maybe. Yet his colorful designs are always a pleasure to look at and has given me the courage to add some color in my wardrobe. This season, his love for movies shined through and it became a bit more sportswear than what he normally does. This collection is full on many surprises, checkerboards pattern, track pants (done very chic) and even a few metallic pieces. Nonetheless, it was a great collection.

Jonathan Saunders Autumn/Winter 2014
Jonathan Saunders Autumn/Winter 2014
Jonathan Saunders Autumn/Winter 2014
Jonathan Saunders Autumn/Winter 2014

I will update as much as I can this week. This is just the beginning. We still have Milan and Paris Fashion Week!!

G!

Leave a Reply

