A Post About Coats

Hello again, I’ve been away for a couple of months. Just living life and enjoying everything that comes along with the ride. Living in Chicago has its ups and downs, like I am sure goes along with living in any other metropolitan city. I can say that this past winter season has been the worst we have experience in a while. Hence the hashtags on Twitter such as, #Chiberia and #Polarvortex. Today has finally been a sunny-breezy low 60  degree day, that all the question on my mind was “What kind of winter coat am I going to buy for this coming winter season?”

I know, I know, I am sure I was the only one thinking of such a thing during a such a nice sunny day. Sounds sad but it is true and I have the need to sport something new and fresh this coming winter season. Although, I love my current Sean John winter coat, I feel the need to switch it up. I just hope that this new coat keeps me warm like my Sean John did during this polar vortex and it comes along with fur! =) Here are some ideas I was looking into.

Monclear Gamme Rouge
Monclear Gamme Rouge

I love the detail of this Monclear Gamme Rouge coat. I like the multiple pockets, I don’t think I have the need for them but you never know. I don’t think it comes with an attached lightweight coat underneath like I hope it does but none the less I like this. It gives me enough room to pile on the scarves. I love a good chunky wool scarf for winter and I need a coat that will give me the room for it.

Dior
Dior

It’s something about this coat that I want to just wrap myself in it and live in it. haha!! I’ve never had a coat that passed my waist. I’ve never owned a trench coat or anything of its kind. In an ideal world, I would love to own this but in reality, I have nowhere to go in this. I guess, I can just walk aimlessly around Chicago’s Downtown. Nonetheless, it is a fantastic floor-length coat.

Viktor & Rolf 2013
Viktor & Rolf 2013

I am liking this coat. It is the right length, for my liking and it looks warm. I like the fact that it comes with a hood. A hood is also an option that I have been considering. Do I want a hood or not. I want to say that I am  willing to give it a shot but I do wear a skull-cap as well but a hood can shield me when the snow blows in my face. (something that I really hate)

John Varvatos 2013
John Varvatos 2013

I have always wanted a cape. This mostly for fall, well at least I would wear it for the fall season. I really love the color John Varvatos used for the cape. I like the flow of it and flap detail. I almost got a cape custom made but the plans fell through but real talk, I will own one.

Mr. Gentleman 2014
Mr. Gentleman 2014

I was also debating if I should go with a military inspired coat. I like this peacoat by Mr. Gentleman a brand from Japan. Their Fall/Winter 2014 runway collection was just a few weeks ago from Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Tokyo. I like the clean look this coat has and the color is great as well. Also, if I may add I like the onesie knitted short combo, feel comfortable. The coat is the right length for me and it will give me room for a scarf and I style it like it is shown in the picture, it can protect me from the cold winter breezy days. The options are endless, it is only March, a few hours away from April to begin. I still have a few months to figure it out.

G!

P.S. I am getting a custom-made tunic from a very dear close friend of mine. I will make a blog post about it, from consultation to creative process to fitting and finalizing. Keep checking up!!

Leave a Reply

